OUR HISTORY

HARWOOD ENGINEERING CONSULTANTS’ roots date back to 1924 when two engineers, Paul and John Brust, joined the 1906 brust-brust established architectural firm of Peter Brust, Architects. The firm’s new name became Brust & Brust Architecture, Engineering & Planning in 1938. At that time, the firm was located in the Bumdner Building at 135 West Wells Street, Milwaukee, WI. Paul left the firm for a short time, spending a couple of years working for the United States Engineers’ Office in Milwaukee’s Federal Building. By 1948 the firm employed architects, engineers, draftsmen and secretaries. And during the 1950’s the firm became an authority on church design, completing many religious projects throughout Milwaukee and Wisconsin.  

In 1973 the firms name changed from Brust & Brust Architecture to Brust-Zimmerman, Architects. Also around this same time, Robert Brust grandson of Peter Brust, started Brust Engineering which in 1983 became Harwood Engineering. During the period from 1975 through 1984, the firm gained national recognition and notoriety for its expertise in the area of exterior facades and cladding. In 1989 the firm began adding additional disciplines; Electrical, Mechanical (HVAC), Plumbing and Fire Protection. Finally in 2005 the firm added Civil Engineering. Today, Harwood Engineering is a diversified, multi-disciplinary firm. Knowledge, experience, integrity and collaboration form the cornerstone of our practices and philosophy.